fbpx

Are Jelly Beans Kosher?

A basket of fruit

Yes! The Jelly Bean Factory jelly beans are kosher! Here at The Jelly Bean Factory, we want as many people as possible to be able to enjoy our gourmet jelly beans and all 36 of their huge flavours.

That’s why we made sure all of our gourmet jelly beans are kosher! We’ve also made them vegetarian, gluten-free and halal to make sure as many people as possible get to enjoy our jelly beans.

Want to know how we make our jelly beans so chewy and tasty whilst still being kosher, vegetarian, gluten-free and halal? Then sit back, relax and treat yourself to some tasty gourmet jelly beans as we explain how we get our jelly beans to be such tasty little beans!

 

What Does Kosher Mean?

Kosher food is food that adheres to the kosher diet, the strict dietary standards of Jewish law, as stated in the Torah.

The kosher diet is defined by strict dietary laws. These laws contain an outline of the foods Jewish people can eat and which foods are forbidden. The laws also say how the permitted foods should be prepared.

What Makes Jelly Beans Koshar?

For something to be kosher it must follow strict dietary rules. We make sure all our delicious gourmet jelly beans follow these rules. Here at The Jelly Bean Factory, we are proud to say that our facility and our range of delicious gourmet jelly beans are kosher certified by the Orthodox Union.

Our gourmet jelly beans are classed as pareve, according to kosher standards, which means they don’t contain any meat or dairy. All of our equipment is cleaned to the highest standard and kept separate from each other so there no chance of contamination.

Do Jelly Beans Contain Gelatine?

Most jelly sweets contain gelatine, a substance that makes sweets chewy and gummy. Gelatine can also help sweets keep their shape and flavour for long periods of time. Gelatine is commonly made with animal waste, such as skin and hooves. Our jelly beans however, do not contain any gelatine.

The most common animal products used in gelatine comes from pigs. Pork in any form is forbidden under kosher dietary law and therefore a lot of jelly sweets are not kosher.

Here at The Jelly Bean Factory, we have made sure none of our products contains any animal products, including pork, so that as many people as possible can eat our tasty jelly beans. Instead, our jelly bean scientists developed a starch-based substance called glucose syrup.

Potaoes

What Is Glucose Syrup?

Glucose syrup is a gluten-free alternative to shaping products like gluten and gelatine. It uses none wheat-based plants to create a gooey sticky jelly substance. It’s that plant-based sticky goo that helps us give our gourmet jelly beans that classic jelly bean shape and texture.

It’s completely kosher, vegetarian, gluten-free and halal so that everyone can enjoy The Jelly Bean factory gourmet jelly beans. It’s free from any E numbers and chemicals and also free from all 14 EU Allergens (Gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, celery, mustard, eggs, milk, sesame, fish, crustaceans, molluscs, soya, sulphites and lupin). This meant that yes, all of our gourmet jelly beans are suitable for as many people as possible!

 

 

How Do Jelly Beans Get Their Flavour Without Animal Products?

Our gourmet jelly beans or known for their 36 huge flavours. All our colours and flavours come from natural sources and don’t contain any E numbers, unhealthy chemicals or gelatine.

We use all-natural ingredients, like fruit juices to give our jelly beans that explosion of sweet, juicy, tangy flavour we all know and love. We work with the best flavour houses to ensure we use the highest quality ingredients we can.

All our jelly beans are filled with the juiciest all-natural flavours. They are completely free of animal products, gluten, E numbers and allergens so that everyone can enjoy the mouth-watering, huge flavours of The Jelly Bean Factory’s gourmet jelly beans.

 

A basket of fruit

Contact Us!

Can’t wait to get your hands on some of our delicious huge flavours? Then visit our shop for all your jelly bean needs!

Have more questions?

Check out out our FAQ for more. You can also follow us on Social media or Contact us. If you have a question, a comment or just fancy a chat about jelly beans, we’ll make sure to get back to you as soon as possible.

 

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email