fbpx

Are Jelly Beans Allergen Free?

Our jelly beans are free from nuts

Yes! All of our products here at The Jelly Bean Factory are free from all of 14 of the EU allergens! But what does that mean?

Well, sit back and relax with some allergen free gourmet jelly beans as we answer the question are jelly beans allergen free and why do we make sure all of our products are completely allergen free.

 

What Are Allergens?

An allergy is “hypersensitivity caused by exposer to a particle antigen (Allergen) resulting in a marked increase in reactivity to that antigen on subsequent exposure, sometimes resulting in harmful immunologic consequences.”

Allergies are very common, and it’s believed that around 1 in 4 people in the UK have an allergy to something. Allergies can be caused by a variety of different things but one of the most common reason for an allergic reaction is food.

All food has the possibility of causing an allergic reaction but there are some foods where an allergy is more common or the reaction is more severe and these are the food we need to look out for.

The EU has list 14 food stuff that is either incredibly common or incredibly dangerous, they are the 14 EU allergens. The 14 Eu allergens are:

1. Celery

Celery allergy is an allergy to celery, celeriac, celery salt and anything else related to the elderly.

2. Gluten

A gluten allergy or inference is when the body cannot properly digest any foods with gluten in. Gluten can be found in all sorts of food, even jelly sweets, but here at The Jelly Bean Factory, we are proud to say all of our products are gluten free.

3. Shellfish

Allergies to shellfish and crustaceans can be caused by seafood like crabs, shrimp, and lobsters. Shellfish allergy causes the immune system to act against the proteins in the shellfish and can be very serious.

our jelly beans are free from the shellfish allergen

4. Eggs

Egg allergy occurs when the proteins in the egg bind with cells in our body and make us ill. Unlike some allergies, it’s common to only be allergic to one type of egg, the most common is hen egg.

Actress Margot Robbie is allergic to hen eggs, so her egg sandwich in Birds Of Prey was in fact made from duck eggs.

5. Fish

Finned fish can cause severe allergic reactions and can be very dangerous. Luckily, we have no plans to make fish flavoured jelly beans anytime soon.

6. Lupin

Lupin is a flower, but it’s more commonly found in, funnily enough, flour. Allergy to lupin can range from mild to extremely dangerous.

7. Milk

Allergy to milk or lactose intolerance is one of the most common allergies. Our gourmet jelly beans are dairy and lactose free for when you need a sweet treat that isn’t made with milk, butter or cream.

Our jelly beans are free of the milk allergen

8. Molluscs

Allery to molluscs is similar to a shellfish allergy but there are some differences. Thankfully the only shells in our jelly beans are the crunchy sugar shell on the outside of our delicious beans.

9. Mustard

The primary allergen in yellow mustard is “Sin a 1.” The enzymes don’t break down much in the digestive tract, and the allergen is present even if the mustard is cooked in food. Luckily we aren’t evil so we have no plans for a spicy jelly bean!

10.  Tree Nuts

Nut allergies are extremely common and can be really dangerous for some people and in some cases, even a trace of nuts can cause a serious allergic reaction. Tree nuts are nuts that grow on trees and we don’t have any in our factories.

11. Peanuts

Unlike tree nuts, peanuts are grown in the ground, but the allergy is just as serious. None of our products contains any nuts and they are produced and packed in totally nut free environments.

Our jelly beans are free from nuts

12. Sesame Seeds

Sesame seed allergy is similar to a nut allergy and can leave you with a nasty rash or itchy throat which makes eating things with sesame very uncomfortable. Here at The Jelly Bean Factory, we make sure all of our gourmet jelly beans are free from all tree nuts, peanuts and seeds so that this won’t happen.

13. Soya

Many foods, such as meat products, bakery goods, chocolate and breakfast cereals, may contain soya, which makes it one of the harder allergies to manage. You don’t have to avoid The Jelly Bean Factory gourmet jelly beans however as they contain no soy or soy based products.

14. Sulphites

Sulphites are often added to food for a variety of reasons but can cause breathing difficulty for people with sulphite allergy. Here at The Jelly Bean Factory, we don’t add any unnecessary or harmful chemicals and additives to our food.

 

Why Do We Make Our Jelly Beans Allergen Free?

We want as many people as possible to enjoy our gourmet jelly beans and get to experience all 36 of our huge flavours. That’s why it’s so important that all of our products are free of all 14 EU allergens.

And that’s not all, to make our jelly beans as inclusive as possible all of our products are vegetarian, gluten-free, halal and kosher, as well as being free from alcohol.

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email